Skip to main content

Associated Student Government Faculty & Administrator Honor Roll

October 31, 2022

The Associated Student Government (ASG) collects nominations for the annual Faculty & Administrator Honor Roll from the Northwestern University undergraduate student body. In the past year, over 100 students provided thoughtful and complex portraits of faculty and staff who they believe made a powerful and exceptional impact on their Northwestern experience. ASG wishes to honor the faculty and staff whose dedication and care for students led to their inclusion on this list. Congratulations to the 2021-2022 AFAM Faculty & Administrator Honorees featured below. 


E. Patrick Johnson

Dean Johnson is the Dean of the School of Communication, Annenberg University Professor of Performance Studies and African American Studies, and founder of the Black Arts Initiative at Northwestern. He received his Ph.D. from Louisiana State University in speech communication. Dean Johnson was nominated for his encouragement of "students to learn more about communication outside of [their] majors" and for hosting meaningful events for the department.


Department of African American Studies

Tracy Vaughn-Manley

Prof. Vaugn-Manley is the Director of Undergraduate Studies in African American Studies, and in 2018, she earned the Charles Deering McCormick Distinguished Professor of Instruction Award. She received her Ph.D. in English from the University of Massachusetts Amherst, and her current research examines the distinctive aspects that define the Black Aesthetic quilting tradition: the assertion of individual and collective agency and the narrative aspects and the social and historical significance of quilts. She is nominated for her work in HUM 101-6: Great Migrations, Folk Life, Chicago Renaissance.


Department of Theatre

Danielle Bainbridge

Prof. Bainbridge received her Ph.D. in American studies and African American studies from Yale University and currently holds courtesy appointments in the Department of Performance Studies and the Department of African American Studies. Dr. Bainbridge is also a faculty fellow at the Kaplan Institute for the Humanities for the 2022-2023 academic year. She is nominated for her work in AF_AM_ST 259: Introduction to African-American Drama. 

Department of History

Kate Masur

Prof. Masur received her Ph.D. in history from the University of Michigan where she specialized in the history of race, politics, and law in the nineteenth-century United States. Since then, she has published numerous books and articles in her field. Her scholarship has received awards such as the John T Hubbell Prize for the best article in the journal Civil War History in 2010, and she was an Andrews Fellow in the W.E.B. Du Bois Research Institute at Harvard University. Admired throughout the department, one student wrote that she “puts a lot of care into her work” and appreciated how accessible she is to her students. She is nominated for her work in HISTORY 303-2: American Women’s History, Since 1865.

Department of Political Science

Reuel Rogers

Prof. Rogers received his Ph.D. from Princeton University. His research and teaching focus on complex topics such as the intersection of race, ethnicity, immigration, place, political behavior, and urban politics. Rogers has written numerous publications and a book as well as held various distinguished fellowships. Nominated for his work in POLI_SCI 321: Urban Politics and POLI_SCI 327: African American Politics, one student wrote that Professor Rogers is “incredibly prepared, caring, and detail-oriented” and that they are “so grateful to have learned from him.”